Te Wānanga (Downtown Public Space)

27 May 2022

Congrats to the winners – Engineering NZ Te Ao Rangahau, Auckland Awards

It’s good news Friday, and we are very proud to announce two wins at last night’s Engineering New Zealand Te Ao Rangahau – Auckland Branch Awards, where TSA were also sponsors of the GT Murray Memorial  Award.

Huge congratulations to Sophie Tingey for winning the Outstanding Emerging Professional Award. The criteria for this award required nominees to display a number of traits including the ability to inspire others and show extraordinary enthusiasm to contribute to engineering, and showing extraordinary potential to be a leader of tomorrow.

Since starting with TSA, Sophie has worked on the Papakura to Pukekohe Electrification Project for KiwiRail where she has added further value to her role through her engineering background. Well done Sophie – you nailed it!

Additional congratulations to the Te Wānanga (Downtown Public Space) project team for winning the Arthur Meade Award. The objectives of this award are to encourage, recognise and publicise significant contributions to the sustainability and improvement of the environment.

Well done to the Te Wānanga team Tonkin + Taylor, Isthmus Group, Downer, HEB Construction, Auckland Transport, Auckland Council and our very own Dean Harris! This is a project that embodies positive impact – demonstrating that for TSA it is not just about the things we build, but primarily the positive legacy we help generate for the communities in which we work.

And further congratulations to the Te Wānanga team along with the Te Ngau o Horotiu (Ferry Basin Redevelopment) team. These projects received a gold award under the Civic Projects Category at last week’s Master Builders Association’s New Zealand Commercial Project Awards, where TSA’s Rachel Kirk and Angus Newsam worked on Te Ngau o Horotiu.

Dean Harris, Sophie Tingey and Gerard Krishnan at the Engineers NZ Auckland awards.

Dean Harris, Sophie Tingey and Gerard Krishnan

Share this story: